Exploring History Through Fiction: A Panel

Thursday, April 11, 2024 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
76 Pondfield Road
Bronxville, NY 10708

Womrath Bookshop is thrilled to welcome Marcia Bradley, Brooke Foster, Barbara Josselsohn, and Lynda Loigman as they participate in a panel discussing historical fiction. These authors have all written across a variety of time periods, and have woven narratives that make the past come alive. Join us as they discuss their work.

Mark your calendars and join us at Womrath Bookshop for an enlightening evening! Audience Q&A and book signing are to follow. Register and reserve a copy of their books HERE.

About the Authors

About Marcia Bradley

Marcia Bradley, seeking her ‘second life,’ moved from Los Angeles to study at Sarah Lawrence College earning her MFA in 2017 after her BA from Antioch University. Marcia received a Bronx Council on the Arts/New York City BRIO Award for Fiction, was a Pushcart nominee in 2022, and her writing has appeared in The Chicago Review of Books, The Capital Gazette, and many other publications. She was awarded scholarships to Ragdale, Community of Writers, and Eckerd College Writers’ residencies. A native of Chicago, Marcia teaches adult fiction and memoir writers at The Writing Institute at Sarah Lawrence College, and lives in the Bronx. Her debut novel, The Home for Wayward Girls, was published by HarperCollins in 2023 and was included on “Goodreads 105 of the buzziest novels of 2023 list.”

About Brooke Foster

Brooke Lea Foster is an award-winning journalist and bestselling novelist whose work has appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Boston Globe, People, and The Atlantic, among others. Her novels Summer Darlings and On Gin Lane were named best summer books by People magazine, Town and Country and Entertainment Weekly. All the Summers in Between is her third novel. For a behind the scenes look at her writing process, subscribe to her popular Substack newsletter Dear Fiction.

About Barbara Josselsohn

Barbara Josselsohn’s newest book is The Lost Gift to the Italian Island, a sweeping multigenerational story that takes place in the days leading up to the Nazi occupation of northern and central Italy. It is a follow-up to her best-selling Secrets of the Italian Island, which launched last May. Barbara is also the author of five previous novels: The Lilac House, The Cranberry Inn, The Lily Garden, The Bluebell Girls, and The Last Dreamer. Her articles and essays appear in a range of publications including The New York Times, New York Magazine, Writer’s Digest, Parents Magazine, and Westchester Magazine. Barbara has taught novel and essay writing at numerous venues and privately, and is a member of the Women’s Fiction Writers Association and coordinator of the Scarsdale Library Writers Center. Her next historical novel, the third and final in her WW2 series, is scheduled to release this summer. When she’s not writing, Barbara enjoys ballet (both dance and watching) as well as yoga, reading, and spending time with her family—her husband, three adult children, and rescue pup named Albie.

About Lynda Loigman

Lynda Cohen Loigman graduated from Harvard College and Columbia Law School. Her debut novel, The Two-Family House, was a USA Today best seller and a nominee for the Goodreads 2016 Choice Awards in Historical Fiction. Her second novel, The Wartime Sisters, was selected as a Woman's World Book Club pick and a Best Book of 2019 by Real Simple Magazine. Her most recent book, The Matchmaker’s Gift, was named a Best New Book by People Magazine and a Best Book of Fall by the New York Post, Parade Magazine, Buzzfeed, and Good Morning America.com. The Love Elixir of Augusta Stern, her fourth novel will be published by St. Martin’s Press this October.

Featured Books

The Home For Wayward Girls by Marcia Bradley

Growing up in the 1990s, a young girl escapes her abusive parents–and the “ranch” they ran for “bad” girls—and becomes an advocate for teen runaways in this harrowing and heartfelt novel for fans of Joanna Goodman and Lisa Wingate.

While other adolescent girls are listening to grunge rock or swooning over boy bands and movie stars, Loretta knows little of life beyond the Home for Wayward Girls, the secluded ranch where her parents run a program designed to “correct” teen girls’ “bad behavior.” Some new residents arrive with their moms and dads, while other are accompanied by transporters—people paid to forcibly deliver these “problem” teens—girls caught swearing, smoking, drinking, or kissing. Many are failed runaways desperate to leave their controlling and sometimes brutal homes. Few have any idea of the suffering that lies ahead.

Loretta witnesses firsthand how the adults use abusive discipline to crush these young women’s spirits and break their wills. She understands these girls’ pain and shares it. Since childhood she’s been afraid of her father, and avoids him by spending time with the residents, secretly teaching them the survival skills they’ll need in case they manage to escape. Until the day a horrifying act of violence forces her to make her own terrible choice. Terrified and with no other option, Loretta flees the ranch and hitchhikes across the country, ending up in New York. Eventually finding safety and a sympathetic community, Loretta dedicates herself to working with lost, vulnerable, and defenseless teens, determined to prevent the same thing from happening to other girls like her.

All the Summers In Between by Brooke Foster

“If you’re looking to dive into historical fiction this summer, look no further than” (Town & Country) the acclaimed author of Summer Darlings and On Gin Lane and her latest page-turning novel about two estranged friends whose unexpected reconnection in the Hamptons forces them to finally confront the terrible event that drove them apart.

When wealthy, impulsive summer girl Margot meets hardworking and steady local girl Thea in the summer of 1967, the unlikely pair become fast friends, working alongside one another in a record store and spending every spare moment together. But after an unspeakable incident on one devastating August night, they don’t see one another for ten years…until Margot suddenly reappears in Thea’s life, begging for help and harboring more than one dangerous secret. Thea can’t bring herself to refuse her beloved friend—but she also knows she can’t fully trust her either.

Unfulfilled as a housewife, Thea enjoys the dazzling sense of adventure Margot brings to her life, but will the truth of what happened to them that fateful summer ruin everything? Testing the boundaries of how far she’ll go for a friend, Thea is forced to reckon with her uncertain future while trying to decide if some friends are meant to remain in the past.

Set in the dual timelines of 1967 and 1977, All the Summers In Between is at once a mesmerizing portrait of a complex friendship, a delicious glimpse into a bygone Hamptons, and a powerful coming-of-age for two young women during a transformative era.

The Lost Gift to the Italian Island by Barbara Josselsohn

Italy, 1943. With tears in her eyes, Giulia listens out for the sound of bombers flying overhead and thinks of the baby growing inside of her. Through the fabric of her lace dress her fingers touch the cold bullets carefully sewn into the seams. Luca might never forgive her, but she has to do this...

New York, present day. When Tori Coleman discovers that her mother was adopted, her whole world shatters. Jeremy, her boyfriend, wants to get married, but how can Tori commit when she doesn't know who she truly is? The only clue to the identity of her biological family is a mysterious postcard with a photograph of an ornate wedding dress her grandmother Giulia made, which she's told was gifted to a museum on an Italian island...

Tori arrives on Ciani island, surrounded by turquoise Mediterranean waters, with the sweet smell of orange blossom filling the air. She soon finds the museum and learns that Giulia was Jewish, and secretly lived there during World War Two. She thought her grandmother abandoned her mother, but was she forced to leave and give up her child?

Just as she's getting closer to answers, an unexpected call from Jeremy stops Tori in her tracks. As he passionately urges her to find out the truth, suddenly Tori wishes he were in Italy by her side, ready to propose again.

But then Tori is shocked to find bullets sewn into the lining of one of Giulia's dresses and a notebook claiming she did something terrible during World War Two. Will the secrets in her family help her follow her own heart, or send her home from Italy with it finally broken forever?

An enchanting, unforgettable novel about desperate decisions in the dark days of war and the uplifting power of true love. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Soraya Lane and Victoria Hislop.

The Matchmaker's Gift by Lynda Loigman

Is finding true love a calling or a curse?

Even as a child in 1910, Sara Glikman knows her gift: she is a maker of matches and a seeker of soulmates. But among the pushcart-crowded streets of New York’s Lower East Side, Sara’s vocation is dominated by devout older men—men who see a talented female matchmaker as a dangerous threat to their traditions and livelihood. After making matches in secret for more than a decade, Sara must fight to take her rightful place among her peers, and to demand the recognition she deserves.

Two generations later, Sara’s granddaughter, Abby, is a successful Manhattan divorce attorney, representing the city’s wealthiest clients. When her beloved Grandma Sara dies, Abby inherits her collection of handwritten journals recording the details of Sara’s matches. But among the faded volumes, Abby finds more questions than answers. Why did Abby’s grandmother leave this library to her and what did she hope Abby would discover within its pages? Why does the work Abby once found so compelling suddenly feel inconsequential and flawed? Is Abby willing to sacrifice the career she’s worked so hard for in order to keep her grandmother’s mysterious promise to a stranger? And is there really such a thing as love at first sight?

The Home for Wayward Girls: A Novel By Marcia Bradley Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063276048
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - April 4th, 2023

Pre-Order Now Badge
All the Summers In Between By Brooke Lea Foster Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781668034378
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Gallery Books - June 4th, 2024

On Gin Lane By Brooke Lea Foster Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982174446
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - May 2nd, 2023

The Lost Gift to the Italian Island: Unputdownable and heart-wrenching World War Two historical fiction By Barbara Josselsohn Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781837908448
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bookouture - December 4th, 2023

Secrets of the Italian Island: An absolutely gorgeous and page-turning World War Two romance By Barbara Josselsohn Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781803147819
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bookouture - May 11th, 2023

The Matchmaker's Gift: A Novel By Lynda Cohen Loigman Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781250819499
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 5th, 2023